Pennsylvania Car Insurance Quotes — Teens, DUIs, and SR-22
A number of drivers searching for cheap car insurance in Pennsylvania may have past problems affording or qualifying for more traditional auto insurance. Some may also need a special type of coverage due to factors that place them in a high risk pool, such as DUI convictions. Teen drivers are considered a steeper insurance risk as well, due to their inexperience. Even with driver education, there is still no substitute for years of driving experience.
Pennsylvania Car Insurance for Teenage Drivers
Teen drivers carry higher risks because they are still learning and practicing all of the existing road rules in various situations. To help lower chances of accidents and the associated insurance hikes, many states have implemented graduated driver licensing laws. Pennsylvania is one example, and these GDL requirements apply to all teen drivers who have reached the minimum age of learner’s permit eligibility. The following information details the process of becoming a licensed teen driver in this particular state.
GDL Law Requirements
|Full licensure||18 without driver education completion or 17 with this course completion|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||6 months|
|Supervised Practice Driving||50 hours minimum|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||Yes, between the hours of 11pm and 5am for the intermediate license stage.|
|Passenger Restrictions||No restriction.|
|Cell Phone Use||No restrictions.|
Getting DUI Insurance in Pennsylvania
A first DUI conviction is this state carries penalties that increase in severity according to the convicted individual’s measured blood alcohol content. A BAC between 0.08% and 0.099% translates into a six-month probationary period, a $3,000 fine and mandatory completion of an alcohol highway safety course. Blood alcohol levels from 0.10% to 0.159% carry tougher penalties of up to six months imprisonment, a fine of up to $5,000 and license suspension for up to 90 days. Depending on the case, some individuals may have an ignition interlock installed in their cars as well. A BAC of 0.16% or higher carries mostly the same penalties with the one difference of a $1,000 to $5,000 fine. Find free Pennsylvania car insurance quotes here.
SR-22 Insurance in Pennsylvania
In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, anyone convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs must file a document called an SR-22 with the motor vehicle department. An SR-22 serves as proof that the motorist in question is carrying a minimum level of liability auto insurance. In addition to a DUI conviction, the DMV can also require an SR-22 of drivers convicted of driving without insurance or of causing an accident resulting in serious injury or property damage. Unlike in some other states, an SR-22 is not mandatory for license reinstatement.
Get Discounted Rates in Minutes
To get started finding cheap auto insurance in Pennsylvania, drivers can use the quote widget available at Carinsuranceinpennsylvania.org. This widget requires only a few driver details and makes the process of finding car insurance quotes much easier. More information for Pennsylvania motorists is posted at www.insurance.pa.gov about insurance rates for teen drivers, DUI convictions and other types of auto liability factors.
If you live in any of these major Pennsylvania cities, you could save even more – compare Pennsylvania car insurance quotes:
- Pittsburgh auto insurance quotes
- Philadelphia car insurance quotes
- Allentown vehicle insurance rates
- Scranton automobile insurance rates
- Reading car insurance quotes
- Erie auto insurance
Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Division
Pennsylvania Insurance Department